
HOW TO APPLY TO BECOME A LICENSED DRIVING SCHOOL 
 
Step One – Are you qualified?    
To become a driving school owner the applicant must: 

1. be a citizen of the United States or be lawfully present in the United States, and be a 
resident of the State of Louisiana;  

2. be at least 21 years of age;  
3. hold a valid Louisiana driver’s license; 
4. have earned at least a high school diploma or GED; 
5. possess any required occupational license; 
6. not have been convicted of any felony offenses related to the operation of a driving 

school or any other business regulated by DPS; 
7. not have been convicted of a crime involving violence, dishonesty, deceit, indecency 

or an offense involving moral turpitude within the last ten years; 
8. not be convicted of any crime enumerated in R. S. 15:587.1(C) (the Child Protection 

Act); 
9. not be a current or previous owner of a driving school whose license has been 

revoked; 
10. has not provided false information with the application  or  falsified or withheld 

documents or information from representatives of DPS; 
11. not have been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony offenses involving controlled 

dangerous substance(s) or driving while intoxicated within the last ten years. 
12. not have been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony offenses involving controlled 

dangerous substance(s) or driving while intoxicated within the last 10 years. 
13. pass a background check; 
13. have a valid e-mail address; and 
14. submit a complete application package. 

 
To be an instructor the applicant must: 

1. Meet all qualifications of a driving school owner and: 
2. a. currently hold a valid teaching certificate with the following specialized education 

courses: 
i. General Safety Education―three hours 
ii. Basic Information Course in Driver Education course ―three hours 
iii. Curriculum Innovations and Instructional Devices course ―three hours -   In-

depth study of driver education and traffic safety curricular materials and 
familiarization with related instructional devices.  

iv. First Aid – one hour;    OR 
b. a certificate of completion of a driver education course at least equivalent to a 30-

hour classroom course which has been approved by DPS. 
3. Have at least 5 years driving experience; 
4. Has not previously been a licensed instructor whose license was suspended or 

revoked. 
5. Within the last three years, shall not have the convictions listed below or a combination 

of three or more single convictions listed below: 
a. driving under suspension   
b. 2 or more citations for seatbelt violations  
c. 2 or more citations for following too closely 
d. 2 or more citations for child restraint violations  
e. 3 or more exceeding the posted speed limit 



f. 2 or more citations for texting while driving 
 Qualifications for 8 Hour Behind-the-Wheel Instructor: 

1. meet the qualifications of a classroom instructor; 
2. hold at least a valid Class "D" Louisiana chauffeur's  license; 
3. not be missing an eye, hand or foot; and 
4. have visual acuity not worse than 20/40 in each eye, with or without corrective lenses 

and not have any restrictions which indicate less than 20/40 vision or have physical 
impairment restrictions on his driver’s license. 

 
Qualifications for a 3rd Party Tester Examiner  

1. Meet all the qualifications for a behind the wheel instructor and; 
2. Successfully complete the Office of Motor Vehicle certified examiner training course, 

which includes in car instruction. 
 
If you are qualified to apply to become a driving school owner and/or instructor, you must 
prepare to begin the application process.  The department has divided the application 
process into two phases.  The first phase requires passing the background check and 
submission of your lesson plan and course specifications.   Details of the information that 
must be included are provided in this document.    
 
Applicants who cannot exhibit the ability to prepare comprehensive lesson plans and course 
specifications will not be licensed.  
 
Step 1 – Complete the background check  
The first phase of the application process requires potential owners to submit an application 
for approval and submit to a background check.  
 
The Office of Motor Vehicles utilizes e-mail as the primary communication method with 
potential driving school owners.  Check e-mail often when your application is pending.  Any 
additional documents required or issues noted will be communicated through e-mail.  The 
Office of Motor Vehicles may require an interview with the potential driving school owners. 
 
The application packet must contain: 

1. Application for Driving School Owner Approval (DPSMV6710) 
2. Certified check or money order for non-refundable application fee of $50; 
3. Completed background check forms (2) for each owner along with separate $26 

certified check or money order for each. 
4. Current e-mail address 

 
Step 2 – Submit a lesson plan 
When the application packet is received, the background check will be submitted.  The 
background check can take up to six weeks to complete.  Once the background check is 
successfully completed, the potential owner will be contacted to submit the lesson plan and 
course specifications.  The lesson plan submitted must be in compliance with Title 55 and 
must show the potential school owner has sufficient knowledge of traffic safety rules, 
regulations and teaching ability.  The course specification is a document that tells students 
and parents what to expect from your school. 
 
 
 
 



 
 
 

1. Lesson Plan Containing: 
i. Beginning and ending time of each class day, lunch and break periods included 
ii. Number of class days in the course; 
iii. Material sources; 
iv. Time periods assigned to each topic 
v. How information is presented, i.e. handouts, videos, lectures; 
vi. Title and length of audio/visual sources to be utilized. 
vii. Information on the parent responsibility segment 

2. Course specifications outlining specific information for your proposed school 
 
Once the lesson plan is approved, the owner will be contacted to submit location specific 
information for the school.   
 
Step 3-Second Application 
The second application packet includes: 

1. Application for Owner and Operator of a Driving School (DPSMV 2147). This form is 
furnished by the Office of Motor Vehicles and must be signed by the owner and 
notarized, unless the owner is making application for instructor; 

2. Copy of occupational license; 
3. Background checks on all non-instructor employees responsible for supervision of 

students; 
4. Certificate of insurance in the company name stating that all vehicles utilized in the 

behind the wheel course are currently insured and that upon cancellation or 
expiration, the department will be notified. This certificate shall be from the issuing 
insurance carrier, not the agency; identify (by description and vehicle identification 
number) the vehicle(s) covered. The limits shall be from a company authorized to do 
business in this state in the amount of at least the minimum amount required by 
R.S. 32:900; 

5. Address of and specification on classrooms utilized to conduct the classroom 
course, including room size and capacity as determined by the State Fire Marshal or 
local authority;  

6.   Copies of unit tests and final examination;  
7.  Lesson plan for the behind-the-wheel course which outlines the stages of the 

course based on the student's progression and specifies the types of roads traveled, 
the traffic signals and signs encountered on the routes taken and the average time 
frame students are exposed to various types of roads.  Written documentation or 
GPS mapping may be included;  

8. Completed application package for third party tester certification; 
9. A certified check or money order for $75 per location for the school;   
10. Certificate of insurance in the company name stating that all vehicles utilized in the 

road skills test are currently insured and that upon cancellation or expiration, the 
department will be notified. The certificate must be from the issuing insurance 
carrier, not the agency and must identify (by description and vehicle identification 
number) the vehicle(s) covered. The limits shall be $1,000,000 in general liability 
and $500,000 in auto liability.  This certificate must ensure the department will be 
notified of any cancellation. 

11. Completed Driving School Instructor Application Package for each Instructor 
 



 
Instructors 
Each instructor submitting an application will be required to specify which instruction 
(classroom and/or behind the wheel) they desire to perform.  Instructors must meet the 
requirements for each function.  Each school location will be required to maintain one 
instructor which is licensed as a third party tester.  The application must be notarized and 
signed by the owner (unless the owner is making application) of the driving school, thus 
indicating that said person is or will be employed by the school. This applies to renewals as 
well as original application. 
 
The instructor packet includes: 

1. Application for Instructor of a Driving School (DPSMV 2148); 
2. Completed background check forms (2) for each instructor along with separate $26 

certified check or money order for each; 
3. A valid teaching certificate or certificate of successful completion, as outlined in the 

qualifications;  
4. Non-refundable $20 certified check or money order made payable to the DPS. 

Once all documents are reviewed and the necessary requirements have been met, the 
license for the driving school will be issued and training for the administration of road skills 
test will begin.  All providers must maintain at least one examiner certified to conduct road 
skills tests at all times.  No classes may be scheduled and no advertising can be done until 
the license is received from the department.    

 
Step 4 - THIRD PARTY TESTER TRAINING 
After the driving school has been approved, the applicant must complete the training to 
become a third party tester.  The applicant will be given the user name and password to 
access the on-line training on theory for third party testing.  Once the applicant is comfortable 
with the material, he will visit to the local motor vehicle office to take the written examination.  
After successfully passing the written test, he will be scheduled for skills test administration 
training. 
 
The applicant must submit the road skills test route for approval.  Once the route is approved 
and testing and training are complete, a contract will be sent to the owner, which must be 
signed and returned to the department.   
 
FINAL STEP 
Once the contract is signed by department representatives, the school license and 
certification will be sent to the school along with instructor licenses for all instructors.  Only 
after the license and certification are received classes may then be scheduled and 
advertising can be done. 
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