## Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections



## PUBLIC SAFETY SERVICES OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES

## **MEMORANDUM:**

To: Applicants for Tester/Examiner Certification

You have requested information on applying to become an examiner for CDL skills testing under the Office of Motor Vehicles.

Please make sure you read, understand, and meet all of the qualifications for application (Title 55 - rule 117, 119, and Louisiana law 32:408, 408.1, and 408.2) before completing an application. Missing information on any of the forms will cause your application to be returned. Altering any of the pre-printed text of any of the forms will cause permanent disqualification of potential tester/examiner status.

The company official responsible for contracts should complete the Application for Training, Tester Application, and Tester Agreement. Do not obtain the surety bond until your examiner attends class. The applicant should complete the Examiner Application (leave examiner# blank) and the company official must attest to it, after reviewing the requirements. The fingerprint cards should accompany the application. Application fees (\$50.00 per site, \$10.00 per examiner – payable to LA Dept of Public Safety) should be submitted with your application in the form of a single company check.

Your application is held on file until the next available Examiner's class at which time you will be notified by phone.

This completed information can be returned to

CDL Consultant Office of Motor Vehicles P.O. Box 64886 Baton Rouge, LA 70896

If you have any questions, please contact a CDL Consultant at (225) 925-4977 or 925-4999

Title 55, part 3 – rule 117 and 119 can be viewed at http://www.doa.louisiana.gov/osr/lac/books.htm

Louisiana law RS 32:408 can be viewed at http://www.legis.state.la.us/ and click on search.

Sincerely

Clifton Langlois (225) 223-1163 State CDL Consultant

"YOU DRINK & DRIVE, YOU LOSE"
P.O. BOX 64886, BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA 70896-4886
225-925-6246 | www.expresslane.org