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ARE YOU QUALIFIED?  
Driving School Owner - the applicant must:
1. be a citizen of the United States or be lawfully present in the United States, and be a resident of the State of Louisiana; 
2. be at least 21 years of age; 
3. hold a valid Louisiana driver’s license;
4. have earned at least a high school diploma or GED;
5. not have been convicted of any felony offenses related to the operation of a driving school or any other business regulated by DPS;
6. not have been convicted of a crime involving violence, dishonesty, deceit, indecency or an offense involving moral turpitude within the last ten years;
7. not be convicted of any crime enumerated in R. S. 15:587.1(C) (the Child Protection Act);
8. not be a current or previous owner of a driving school whose license has been revoked;
9. have not provided false information with the application  or  falsified or withheld documents or information from representatives of DPS;
10. not have been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony offenses involving controlled dangerous substance(s) or driving while intoxicated within the last ten years.
11. pass a background check;
12. have a valid e-mail address; and
13. submit a complete application package.

Driving School Instructor - the applicant must:
1. meet all qualifications of a driving school owner and:
2.  a. currently hold a valid teaching certificate with the following specialized education courses:
i. General Safety Education―three hours
ii. Basic Information Course in Driver Education course ―three hours
iii. Curriculum Innovations and Instructional Devices course ―three hours -   In-depth study of driver education and traffic safety curricular materials and familiarization with related instructional devices. 
iv. First Aid – one hour;    OR
b. hold a certificate of completion of a driver education course at least equivalent to a 30-hour classroom course which has been approved by DPS.
3. have at least 5 years driving experience;
4. has not previously been a licensed instructor whose license was suspended or revoked.
5. within the last three years, shall not have the convictions listed below or a combination of three or more single convictions listed below:
a. driving under suspension  
b. 2 or more citations for seatbelt violations 
c. 2 or more citations for following too closely
d. 2 or more citations for child restraint violations 
e. 3 or more exceeding the posted speed limit
f. 2 or more citations for texting while driving


8 Hours Behind-the-Wheel Instructor – the applicant must:
1. meet the qualifications of a classroom instructor;
2. hold at least a valid Class "D" Louisiana chauffeur's  license;
3. not be missing an eye, hand or foot; and
4. have visual acuity not worse than 20/40 in each eye, with or without corrective lenses and not have any restrictions which indicate less than 20/40 vision or have physical impairment restrictions on his driver’s license.

Third Party Examiner – the applicant must:
1. meet all the qualifications for a behind-the-wheel instructor and
2. complete the Office of Motor Vehicle certified examiner training course.

If you are qualified to become a driving school owner and/or instructor the next step is to begin the application process.  The application process consists of two phases.  

PHASE 1 – BEGIN APPLICATION PROCESS 
The first phase of the application process requires potential owners to submit an application for approval and submit to a background check.  

You must submit the following:  
a. Application for Driving School Owner Approval (DPSMV6710)
b. A non-refundable application fee of $50 (certified check or money order);
c. Completed background check forms (2) for each owner along with separate $26 certified check or money order for each;
d. Copy of owner’s diploma (high school/college/GED) or school transcript;
e. A lesson plan containing:
i. Beginning and ending time of each class day, lunch and break periods included
ii. Number of class days in the course;
iii. Material sources;
iv. Time periods assigned to each topic;
v. How information is presented, i.e.,  handouts, videos, lectures;
vi. Title and length (including year of publication) of audio/visual sources to be utilized;
f. Course specifications outlining specific information for your proposed school;
g. Current e-mail address.

Note:  Applicants who do not exhibit the ability to prepare comprehensive lesson plans and course specifications will not be licensed. 
  
Upon receipt of the application packet, the background check will be processed.  The background results can take up to six weeks.   Once the results are received, the lesson plan will be reviewed to ensure compliance with regulations outlined in Title 55 and the Louisiana Driver’s Guide.   

The Office of Motor Vehicles utilizes e-mail as the primary communication method with potential driving school owners.  Check your e-mail often during the application process.  Any additional documents required or issues noted will be communicated through e-mail.  Do not call or email requesting a status update; we will contact you when necessary.  

Additionally, the Office of Motor Vehicles may require an interview with the potential driving school owner(s).

The completion of Phase 1 determines if you will be approved as a driving school owner.  You will be notified via email that the lesson plan has been approved and you will be asked to submit Phase 2 of the application process.  At this time, you may feel comfortable with purchasing vehicles, obtaining a lease, etc.      

PHASE 2 – THE APPLICATION PACKET SHALL INCLUDE:
a. Application for Driving School Initial Application.  This form is furnished by the Office of Motor Vehicles and must be signed by the owner and notarized, unless the owner is making application for instructor;
b. A certified check or money order for $100.00;
c. Background checks on all employees responsible for supervision of students;
d. Description of any vehicles used in behind the wheel instruction and road tests.  Vehicles must be equipped with dual brake control, school signage, and instructor’s interior rearview mirror; 
e. Certificate of insurance in the company name stating that all vehicles utilized in the behind- the-wheel are currently insured and that upon cancellation or expiration, the department will be notified. This certificate shall be from the issuing insurance carrier, not the agency; identify (by description and vehicle identification number) the vehicle(s) covered. The limits shall be from a company authorized to do business in this state in the amount of at least the minimum amount required by R.S. 32:900; 
f. Certificate of insurance in the company name stating that all vehicles utilized in the road skills test are currently insured and that upon cancellation or expiration, the department will be notified. This certificate must be from the issuing insurance carrier, not the agency; identify (by description and vehicle identification number) the vehicle(s) covered. The limits shall be $500,000 in auto liability.  This certificate must ensure this agency will be notified of any cancellation;
g. Certificate of insurance in the company name stating that all locations are currently insured and that upon cancellation or expiration, the department will be notified. This certificate must be from the issuing insurance.  The limits shall be $1,000,000 in general liability.  This certificate must ensure this agency will be notified of any cancellation;
h. Copy of occupational license for potential location;
i. Address of and specification on classrooms utilized to conduct the classroom course, including room size and capacity as determined by the State Fire Marshal or local authority.  If the use of classroom use is being changed, a plan review by the Fire Marshall’s office is required;
j. Course introduction to orientate students to the class;
k. Parental Responsibility Segment;
l.   Copies of unit and final tests; 
m. Lesson plan for the behind the wheel course which outlines the stages of the course based on the student's progression and specifies the types of roads traveled the traffic signals and signs encountered on the routes taken and the average time frame students are exposed to various types of roads.  Written documentation or GPS mapping may be included; 
n. Completed application package for third party tester certification;
o. Bond in the amount of $40,000;
p. Completed Driving School Instructor Application Package for each Instructor.


Instructors
Each instructor will be required to specify which instruction he desires to administer.  Instructors must meet the requirements for each function.   The application must be notarized and signed by the owner (unless the owner is making application) of the driving school, thus indicating that the applicant is or will be employed by the school. 
The Instructor Packet must include:
a. application for Instructor of a Driving School (DPSMV 2148);
b. Completed background check forms (2) for each instructor along with separate $26 certified check or money order for each;
c. A valid teaching certificate or certificate of successful completion, as outlined in the qualifications; 
d. $20 non-refundable certified check or money order 
e. $50 certified check or money order for each instructor who will also be a licensed as a Third Party Examiner.
THIRD PARTY TESTER TRAINING
All driver education providers must maintain at least one examiner certified to conduct road skills tests at all times.  Once all documents are reviewed and the necessary requirements have been met, the training for the administration of road skills test will begin.  No road skills may be scheduled until the license is received.   

The applicant must complete the training to become a third party tester prior to opening for business.  Applicants will be given the user name and password to access the on-line training on theory for third party testing.  Once the applicant is comfortable with the material, he will visit the local motor vehicle office to take the knowledge examination.  After the applicant has passed the written test, he will be scheduled for skills test administration training.  Each instructor must complete the required training prior to certification and administration of road skills tests. 

When the training is complete, the applicant must submit the road skills test route for approval.  A contract must be signed by the owner and returned to the department.   The school license and certification will be sent to the school along with instructor license(s).     

FINAL STEP
Classes may be scheduled upon receipt of the license(s) and certification.  
