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INSTRUCTIONS FOR ADDING AN INSTRUCTOR 
  
Additional instructors may be added at any time during the current license period.  Applicants desiring to become a 
driver education instructor must meet the following requirements based on the type of instructor license requested.   
  
Classroom Instructor – All applicants must meet the qualifications for a classroom instructor and shall  

1. be a person of good moral character and reputation;  
2. have met all applicable requirements of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Public Safety Services (DPS);  
3. be a citizen of the United States, resident of the State of Louisiana, and at least 21 years of age; 
4. hold at least a valid Class "E" Louisiana driver's license; 
5. have earned at least a High School Diploma or GED; 
6. currently hold a valid teaching certificate and have completed the driver’s education course required by the Department of 

Education or have completed the driver education certification program mandated and approved by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Public Safety Services (DPS);  

7. pass a background check; and  
8. maintain, during any consecutive three-year period, a driving record which does not include more than one chargeable 

accident. Any violation resulting in suspension or revocation will automatically cause the cancellation of the instructor's 
certificate/license.  

 
8 Hour Behind-the-Wheel Instructor shall also  

1. hold at least a valid Class "D" Louisiana chauffeur's license;  
2. not be missing an eye, hand or foot; 
3.  have visual acuity not worse than 20/40 in each eye, with or without corrective lenses; 
4.  not have any vision restrictions which indicate less than 20/40 vision or any mobility impairment restrictions on his driver’s 

license.  
 
3rd Party Tester Examiner shall also   

1. pass the Office of Motor Vehicle certified examiner training course.  An additional $50 is required for each 3rd Party Tester 
Examiner.   

 
Application Process 
Phase 1 
The applicant must submit to a background check through Louisiana State Police. The following items must be submitted:  

1. Initial application for Driving School Instructor;  
2. Completed background forms for each instructor;  
3. Certified check or money order for $26 for each background check.   

Phase 2 
Upon completion of Phase 1, the owner will be advised to submit the following documentation for the instructor.   

1. A copy of valid teaching certificate showing driver education certification or certificate of completion from the driver 
education certification program mandated and approved by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Public Safety 
Services;  

2. A photocopy of Louisiana driver’s license. The license must be a Class D Chauffer’s License, if the instructor will be a 
behind-the-wheel instructor for the 38 hour course or a third party tester;  

3. $20 certified check or money order made payable to the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Public Safety 
Services.  

4. If the applicant applies to be a third party examiner, he will be trained upon receipt of all documents.   
 
All requirements must be met prior to license issuance.    
 
Mail the application to -    

Office of Motor Vehicles 
Training and Certification Unit  
P.O. Box 64886  
Baton Rouge, LA 70896-4886   

  
 


